(actually, I’m writing a new post because I actually got a new follower! Who’d ‘a thought?)
It should (but sadly appears not to) be obvious to everyone, including Congress, that “the enemy of my enemy is my friend” just plain doesn’t work at all and hasn’t worked since maybe WW One . Yes , One: we allied w/ the Soviet Union/Russia in WW2 and Eastern Europe paid for that. Since then: rebels in Afghanistan vs. the Soviets, Iran vs. Iraq NO WAIT Iraq vs. Iran no… ; and now the current daily flip in the Middle East as to which rebel group and/or established autocracy we support. I ain’t gonna do that. Period. If there are two enemies at war, the USA either stays out or joins a UN (or NATO) force. And we do the latter on the basis of a coalition formed without our standard overbearing influence.

